Physics Home


Department of Physics

Want to major in physics? Go here!

NIU Physics Faculty have close links with Fermilab and Argonne National Lab, and often involve undergrad and graduate students in research involving both institutions. For more information, see the links here and here.


Recent Dissertations and Theses

Department Personnel

Chair: Dr. Laurence Lurio, 815-753-6470

Assistant Chair/Director of Undergraduate Studies:     Dr. Yasuo Ito, 815-753-6477

Director of Graduate Studies: Dr. Dhiman Chakraborty, 815-753-8804

Contact us:

Physics Help Room: FR 251 M-Th 9-5, F 9-3

Physics Department Colloquia 

(New 2014 Fall schedule added)

News & Highlights

The Graduate School of NIU is currently accepting nominations for the Carter G. Woodson Scholars Program and the Jeffrey Lunsofrd/Underrepresented Fellowship for the 2015-2016 academic year. DEADLINE: February 10, 2015

American Association of Physics Teachers Scholarship Opportunity for Future High School Physics Teachers for undergraduate students and prospective students. Deadline: December 1st, 2014

Professor Steve Martin presents "The Importance of Making Mistakes" as a Presidential Teaching Professor Seminar on October 21, 2014 at Capitol Room, Holmes Student Center.

Physics undergraduates Jamison Thorne and Ashlyn Shellito attend 2014 Industrial Physics Forum conference in Brazil.

NIU Today and Fermilab Today article highlights Harsha Panuganti and Philippe Piot's research on laser-driven beams and nanotube cathodes also appears in CERN Courier.

NIU Today article highlights Octavio Escalante-Aguirre's work on g-2 in Italy in Summer 2014.

NIU Today article highlights Fermilab g-2 experiment and Mike Eads, Mary Shenk, Mike McEvoy, Aaron Epps, Eric Johnson, and Octavio Escalante-Aguirre

Fermilab Today article highlights proton tomography scanner and George Coutrakon.

Renowned physicist Swapan Chattopadhyay, currently director of the Cockcroft Institute in England, has accepted a joint appointment to Northern Illinois University and Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. Professor Swapan Chattopadhyay will be joining Department of Physics as a faculty this fall 2014.  Please join us in wishing him a warm welcome to the department.

NIU Physics researchers (G. Coutrakon, B. Erdelyi, and V. Zutshi) as members of The NIU proton Computed Tomography (pCT) project team, and the software team led by N. Karonis were issued an US patent (US patent No. 8,766,180) for their application entitled “High performance computing for three dimensional proton computed tomography (HPC-PHT) on July 1st, 2014.

Roland Winkler recognized as an "Outstanding Referees" out of 63,000 active referees of American Physical Society.

Omar Chmaissem, S Avci, J.M. Allred made a new breakthrough in superconductivity research with his ANL collaborators led by Dr. Ray Osborn

Philippe Piot and Chris Prokop highlighted in ASTA newsletter

David Hedin renewed as Board of Trustees Professor

NIU-Fermilab accelerator physics collaborative effort highlighted in Fermilab Today and NIU Today

Jerry Blazey, Steve Boi and Ashlyn Shelitto present at 2014 AAAS meeting

proton tomography scanner construction completed

Mike Fortner receives award for outstanding environmental leadership.

Yasuo Ito interviewed in DeKalb Chronicle story about STEMFest.

Board of Trustees Professor Seminar: Dr. David Hedin, Department of Physics, "Understanding Our Asymmetrical Universe" 10/07/2013, 11:30 am - 1:00 pm. Capitol Room, Homes Student Center

Forbes magazine puts physics on the list of the 15 most valuable college majors.

The 2013 QuarkNet Summer Institute (NIU coordinators:  Michael Eads and Dhiman Chakraborty) hosted by the NIU Physics.  

NIU physicists David Hedin and Michael Eads featured in Fermilab Today story about muon identification and path reconstruction in the Dzero experiment.