Professorial Faculty

Valia Allori Valia Allori, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics
vallori@niu.edu
   
Alfred Tarski David J. Buller, Professor (Ph.D., Northwestern)
Distinguished Research Professor
Philosophy of Science, Logic and Philosophy of Logic, History of Analytic Philosophy
buller@niu.edu
   
Lenny Clapp Lenny Clapp, Professor (Ph.D., MIT)
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, History of Analytic Philosophy
lclapp@niu.edu
   
Steven Daskal Steven Daskal, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Michigan)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2015
Moral and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Action
sdaskal@niu.edu
   
Mylan Engel Jr. Mylan Engel Jr., Professor (Ph.D., Arizona)
Presidential Teaching Professor, 2018
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2009
Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics, Thomas Reid, Animal Rights
mylan-engel@niu.edu
   
Alicia Finch Alicia Finch, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Notre Dame)
Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Feminist Philosophy
afinch@niu.edu
   
Carl Gillett Carl Gillett, Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Religion
cgillett@niu.edu
   
Jason Hanna Jason Hanna, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Colorado)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2016
Normative and Applied Ethics
jhanna@niu.edu
   
Geoffrey Pynn Geoffrey Pynn, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Yale)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2014
Epistemology, Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Language
gpynn@niu.edu
   
Craig Warmke Craig Warmke, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., UNC Chapel Hill)
Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics
warmke@niu.edu
   

Instructional Faculty

Nicoleta Apostol Nicoleta Apostol, Instructor (M.A., Northern Illinois University)
napostol@niu.edu
   
John Beaudoin John Beaudoin, Instructor (Ph.D., Iowa)
Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Law
jbeaudoin@niu.edu
   
Boyd Millar Boyd Millar, Instructor (Ph.D., University of Toronto)
Philosophy of Perception, Philosophy of Mind
bmillar@niu.edu 

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Northern Illinois University
Zulauf Hall 915
DeKalb, IL 60115
Fax: (815) 753-0543

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
Phone: (815) 753-0331
Email: jwilliams4@niu.edu

Jonie Barshinger, Office Manager
Phone: (815) 753-0333
Email: jonie@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor

Prof. Steve Daskal
Office: Zulauf 1026
Phone: (815) 753-6410
Email: sdaskal@niu.edu

Graduate Advisor

Prof. Lenny Clapp
Office: Zulauf 903
Phone: (815) 753-6414
Email: lclapp@niu.edu

Department Chair

David J. Buller
Phone: (815) 753-6299
Email: buller@niu.edu