Graduate Students

Kassidy Beckstein
Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, SUNY at Fredonia
kbeckstein@niu.edu

Kieran Doyle
B.A., philosophy, SUNY at Oswego
kdoyle@niu.edu

Sarah English
B.A., philosophy, Augustana College
senglish@niu.edu

Paul Eschbach
B.A., philosophy, Whitman College
peschbach@niu.edu

Brandon Evans
B.S., philosophy, University of Illinois-Springfield
bevans@niu.edu

Connor Haines
Graduate Assistant
B.A., economics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
chaines@niu.edu

John Hill
University Fellow, Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, Gettysburg College
jhill9@niu.edu

Zhaoqi Hu
Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, St. Olaf College
zhu@niu.edu

Benjamin Keoseyan
B.A., Hispanic studies, Pepperdine University
bkeoseyan@niu.edu

Devin Lane
Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, Northeastern University
dlane1@niu.edu

Kevin Latham
B.A., philosophy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
klatham@niu.edu

Alain Leon
Rhoten A. Smith Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, Azusa Pacific University
aleon3@niu.edu

Zhengkai Li
B.A., philosophy, University of Iowa
zli5@niu.edu

David Lorenzo
Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, Northern Illinois University
dlorenzo@niu.edu

Steven Lucas
B.A., psychology, Lewis & Clark College
slucas1@niu.edu

Michael Milhim
Jeffrey Lunsford Fellow & Rhoten A. Smith Graduate Assistant
B.S., journalism, Bowling Green State University
mmilhim@niu.edu

Brett Park
Graduate Assistant
B.S., finance, Drake University
bpark1@niu.edu

Nicholas Raimondi
B.A., philosophy, William Jewell College
nraimondi@niu.edu

Varun Ravikumar
Graduate Assistant
B.S., mechanical engineering, Shiv Nadar University
vravikumar@niu.edu

Rebecca Schaefer
B.A., international relations, William Jewell College
rschaefer@niu.edu

Brenda Schilling
B.A., philosophy, Clarke University
bschilling@niu.edu

Nahum Shemi
Fulbright Scholar
B.S., psychology, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
nshemi@niu.edu

Adam Smith
B.S., genetics & philosophy, Iowa State University
asmith10@niu.edu

Zachary Smith
Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, University of Louisville
zsmith4@niu.edu

Mack Sullivan
Graduate Assistant
B.A., philosophy, Reed College
msullivan@niu.edu

Danielle Watterson
B.A., philosophy, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse
dwatterson@niu.edu

Wilson Whitener
McNair Scholar
B.A., mathematics & religious/theological studies,St. Edwards University
wwhitener@niu.edu

Daniel Williams
B.A., philosophy, Calvin College
dwilliams26@niu.edu

Mingqiu Xue
B.A., law, China University of Political Science & Law
mxue@niu.edu

Zhuofan Zhang
B.A., philosophy, University of California at San Diego
zzhang5@niu.edu

Jacob Zimbelman
B.A., philosophy, Pepperdine University
jzimbelman1@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Northern Illinois University
Zulauf Hall 915
DeKalb, IL 60115
Fax: (815) 753-0543

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
Phone: (815) 753-0331
Email: jwilliams4@niu.edu

Jonie Barshinger, Office Manager
Phone: (815) 753-0333
Email: jonie@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor

Prof. Steve Daskal
Office: Zulauf 1026
Phone: (815) 753-6410
Email: sdaskal@niu.edu

Graduate Advisor

Prof. Lenny Clapp
Office: Zulauf 903
Phone: (815) 753-6414
Email: lclapp@niu.edu

Department Chair

David J. Buller
Phone: (815) 753-6299
Email: buller@niu.edu