Graduate Students

Ph.D.

Name Area Masters Degree Institution Email
Elaf Al-Yasiri GIS/Geovisualization M.S. - GIS/Cartography Babylon University ealyasiri@niu.edu 
Xuezhi Cang GIS M.S. Capital Normal University xcang@niu.edu 
Robert Fritzen Winter Storms/ Numerical Weather Prediction M.S. - Geography University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign rfritzen@niu.edu 
Adam Frieberg Human Geography MDiv University of Chicago afrieberg@niu.edu 
Yiwei Jin Economic Geography M.S. - Geography Hubei University yjin1@niu.edu 
Andrea Moore Economic Geography/Regional Science M.S. - Geography Northern Illinois University amoore21@niu.edu 
Carmi Neiger Human Geography/GIS M.Arch.- Architecture University of Illinois- Chicago Cneiger1@niu.edu 
Gary Plazyk Urban/GIS M.A. - Geography and Envir. Studies Northeastern Illinois University gplazyk@niu.edu 
Anil Shrestha GIS/Remote Sensing M.S. - Environmental Science University of Northern Iowa ashrestha@niu.edu 
Felipe Valdez Urban-Economic Geography M.S. - Geography Pantheon-Sorbonne University fvaldez@niu.edu 

Masters

Name Area Undergraduate Degree Institution Email
Lily Cobo Soil Science/GIS B.S. - Environmental Science Iowa State University lcobo1@niu.edu 
Cody Converse Meteorology B.S.- Meteorology Central Michigan University cconverse1@niu.edu 
Emery Dhanens Meteorology B.S. - Atmospheric Sciences  Northern Illinois University edhanens1@niu.edu 
Hannah Eboh Hazards and Risk Perception B.S. - Geography DePaul University heboh1@niu.edu 
Kai Funahashi Transportation B.S. - Meteorology Northern Illinois University kfunahashi@niu.edu 
Harpreet Gill Urban-Economic Geography B.A. - Geography DePaul University hgill@niu.edu 
Sarah Hall Natural Hazards B.S. - Meteorology Northern Illinois University shall6@niu.edu 
Matthew Howe Urban/GIS M.A.T.- Teaching National Louis University mhowe2@niu.edu 
Earle Isibue GIS / Remote Sensing B.S. - Geography Northern Illinois University eisibue1@niu.edu
David Lwanga Human-Environment Interaction B.S.- Geography Illinois State University klwanga@niu.edu 
Alex McAvoy Meteorology B.S.- Meteorology California University of Pennsylvania amcavoy1@niu.edu 
Brittany Newman Climatology / Synoptic Meteorology B.S. - Meteorology University of Oklahoma bnewman@niu.edu 
Kristopher Rand Meteorology B.S. - Meteorology Northern Illinois University krand@niu.edu 
Jacob Strohm Meteorology B.S. - Geography University of Wisconsin - Whitewater jstrohm2@niu.edu 
Dominique Watson  Natural Hazards/GIS  B.S. - Meteorology Northern Illinois University  dwatson5@niu.edu 

Contact Us

Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences
Davis Hall, Room 118
815-753-0631
815-753-6872 (Fax)

Directions and Maps