Women's Studies Program Faculty Associates

associates_690x280_main header standard

How to Become a Faculty Associate

Learn about what our faculty associates and faculty affiliates are publishing! 

 

Elvia Arriola
Law
753-7251
earriola@niu.edu
Research: Civil rights; feminist and queer legal theory; gender and human rights; and globalization of the economy.

Larissa (Lacie) Barber
Psychology
753-0740
lbarber@niu.edu
Research: Workplace flexibility and work-home boundary management (work-life balance); workplace stress and health behaviors (specifically sleep), self-regulation/self-control; counterproductive work behaviors; work engagement and burnout; emotional labor (emotion regulation at work); personality in the workplace.

Sinclair Bell
Art History
753-7887
Sinclair.bell@niu.edu
Research: Etruscan and Roman material culture and art, especially its social history; Renaissance reception and contemporary theorization; gender and ancient art.

Alexandra Bennett
English
753-6639
abennet1@niu.edu
Research: 16th & 17th century drama; writings of and about early modern women; Shakespeare; modern theater and drama by women.

Georgia Brown
Computer Science
753-3836
gbrown@niu.edu
Research: Game programming.

Kate Cady
Communication
753-7011
kcady@niu.edu
Research: Public representations of working women, postindustrial economics, and feminism in the late 20th century U.S.; contemporary rhetorical theory and criticism; cultural studies.

Katrina Myers Caldwell
Assistant Vice President for Diversity & Equity
753-1554
kcaldwell1@niu.edu

Louise Ciallella
Foreign Languages & Literatures (Spanish)
753-6447
lciallella@niu.edu
Research: The change from realism to modernism in Spanish literature; narrative imaging of women/gender/class; effects of dictatorship/power on texts (graphic or verbal; film, periodical literature, novels), especially in terms of imaging gender.

Cassandra Crawford
Sociology
753-1657
ccrawford@niu.edu
Research: The modernization of amputation; historical (psychological and medical) and contemporary (biomedical) constructions of phantom limb syndrome; prosthetic technologies; the sociology of pain; contemporary theories of embodiment; qualitative research methods; gender/women’s/feminist/masculinities studies; and critical race studies.

Suzanne E. Degges-White
Counseling, Adult & Higher Education (Chair)
753-1448
sdeggeswhite@niu.edu
Research: women's development throughout the lifespan; women's wellness; ways women deal with life transitions and aging.

Aaron Spencer Fogleman
History
753-6824
aaronfogleman@niu.edu
Research: The Atlantic World, 1492-1860's; French Swiss and German couple traveling from Europe to the Americas from the 1720's to the 1770's.

Reva Freedman
Computer Science
753-6944
rfreedman@niu.edu
Research: AI and computational linguistics, including discourse and dialogue planning; shallow (but not superficial) text generation; mixed-initiative and multi-modal systems; knowledge representation for tutoring and causal reasoning; declarative formalisms; dialogue annotation and analysis; and Linguistics, including romance and semitic linguistics.

Courtney Gallaher
Women's Studies/Geography
753-0631
cgallaher@niu.edu
Research:Food security; crop and soil science; urban agriculture; environmental risks.

Valerie Garver
History
753-6823
vgarver@niu.edu
Research: Cultural, social and religious history of the Carolingian Empire, particularly the history of women, family, gender and material culture.

LaVerne Gyant
Center for Black Studies (Director)
753-1709
lgyant@niu.edu
Research: African American women in business and hospitality industry; development as sisters; adult participation in and contributions to adult education.

Rebecca Hannagan
Political Science
753-9675
rhannaga@niu.edu
Research: Biological underpinnings of political attitudes and behavior; examination of how sex and gender mediate political decision making.

Janet Hathaway
Music
753-7970
jhathaway@niu.edu
Research: Devotional music in public ceremonies in 17th-century Madrid, and music and identity in early modern Spanish convents.

Melissa Lenczewski
Environmental Studies (Director), Geology
753-7937
lenczewski@niu.edu
Research: Biodegration and sorption of MTBE and Ethanol in fine-grain materials from northern Illinois and Mexico; Lacustrine clays from Chalco Basin, Mexico; vegetation and microbial community changes from Maquis to Rainforest, New Caledonia; spatial distribution microorganism associated with biodgreadtion of TCE; microbial ecology of prairie grass soils.

Amy K. Levin
English (Chair)
753-0615
alevin@niu.edu
Research: Literature by women, especially British and African-American women; museums, narratives, and culture.

Amanda Littauer
Women's Studies/History
753-8049
alittauer@niu.edu
Research: Women, girls and non-marital sexuality between 1941-1962.

Lichuan Liu
Electrical Engineering
753-9937
liu@niu.edu
Research: Wireless communications, wireless sensor networks, and inter-vehicle.

 

Beth Miller
Family & Child Studies
753-6339
jem@niu.edu 
Research: Feminist teaching; work and family issues; faculty development.

Kirk Miller
Sociology (Chair)
753-1194
kmiller7@niu.edu
Research: Questions of social control as process and outcome, with special attention to the criminal justice system as a focus for race, class, and gender inequalities. 

Robin Moremen
Sociology
753-6439
rmoremen@niu.edu
Research: Health and aging with emphasis on women's health, AIDS, complex organizations, and multicultural education.

Nina Mounts
Psychology
753-6968
nmounts@niu.edu
Research: Children’s social development from childhood through adolescence; parent-child and peer relationships; peer influence processes during adolescence.

Kristen Myers
Women's Studies, Director; and Sociology, Professor
753-1055
kmyers@niu.edu
Research: The ways that Black and white women work to overcome racism; the ways that gay and lesbian police officers negotiate gender expectations at work; the ways that people talk about race in private; the ways that positionality affects qualitative research; how to teach inequality.

Helen Nagata
Art History
753-7863
hnagata@niu.edu
Research: Japanese art, including images of women, female visual artists and authors, and the world of pleasure quarters as depicted (or not) in Edo-period woodblock prints and paintings.

Lisa Paul
Psychology
753-0778
lpaul1@niu.edu
Research:PTSD; adult sexual trauma; trauma disclosure, particularly disclosure recipients and reactions to victims; trauma-related social support.

Lesley S. Rigg
Vice President for Research (Interim), Geography
753-6838
lrigg@niu.edu
Research: Population and disturbance dynamics of vegetation communities; the role of women in ecological science.

Linda Saborio
Foreign Languages & Literature (Spanish)
753-6465
lsaborio@niu.edu
Research: Latina/o and Mexican theater, culture studies, film, and performance studies; Latina/o and Mexican transborder plays and the performance of race in works by playwrights like Milcha Sanchez-Scott, Rascon Banda, Cherrie Moraga, and Coco Fusco; and theater by Elena Garro, Sabina Berman, and Lisa Loomer as well as some earlier works by Mexican playwrights.

Brian Sandberg
History
753-6813
bsandberg@niu.edu
Research: Intersections of religion, violence, and political culture in early modern history, especially during the European wars of religion; religious violence, gender, and noble culture during the French Wars of Religion.

Kryssi Staikidis
Art Education
753-8388
kstaididis@niu.edu
Research: Indigenous pedagogy; art studio practice as a site for research; and visual culture/critical pedagogy in the classroom.

Margo Sutorius
Family & Child Studies
753-1543
msutorius@niu.edu
Research:

Diana Swanson
Women's Studies/English
753-6611
dswanson@niu.edu
Research: Virgina Woolf; British women novelists; lesbian writers; feminist criticism & theory; history of sexuality; literature & play; literary genre & the social construction of self; gender & sexuality; eco-feminism.

Sharon Sytsma
Philosophy
753-6411
ssytsma@niu.edu
Research: Ethical theory (especially Kant's ethics and theories of moral motivation); biomedical ethics; intersexuality.

Tharaphi Than
Foreign Languages & Literatures (Burmese)
753-6453
tthan@niu.edu
Research: Women of Burma and Southeast Asia, print media and migration.

Miriam van Mersbergen
Speech & Language Pathology
753-8385
mvanmersbergen@niu.edu
Research: The interaction between voice and emotion, specifically how emotional states, temperament, and regulation affect vocal output in healthy adults and in adults with behavioral voice disorders.

Laura Vazquez
Communication
753-7132
lvazquez@niu.edu
Research: Gender and media; documentary video production; autobiographical film and video; web design.

Carol Walther
Sociology
753-6428
cwalther@niu.edu
Research: The influence of the state upon how people interact with governmental forms; the influence of religion on settlement patterns of same-gender couples.

Corrine Wickens
Literacy Education
753-8556
cwickens@niu.edu
Research: Intersections of sexuality and schooling, adolescent literacy, and young adult literature.

Kerith Woodyard
Communication
753-7101
kwoodyard@niu.edu
Research: Rhetorical Theory and Criticism; Women's Rhetorical History.