Faculty Senate

About the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate consists of the 32 elected faculty members of the University Council; one member elected by and from each academic department or school in the degree-granting colleges of the university, with two elected from each academic department or school of over 50 faculty members; and one member each from the College of Law and the University Libraries. 

Among the ex officio nonvoting members is any faculty member of the University Advisory Committee (UAC) to the Board of Trustees and of the Faculty Advisory Committee to the Illinois Board of Higher Education who is not a voting member of the senate, the faculty serving as assistant chairs of the Academic Planning Council (APC), the Graduate Council (GC), and the Undergraduate Coordinating Council (UCC) if they are not otherwise voting members of the senate, and the supportive professional staff member of the University Council. 

The faculty members of the University Council shall be elected by the faculty members of the colleges, excluding the president's staff and the provost's staff, members of the Council of Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, assistants to deans and members of the supportive professional staff. The remaining faculty members shall be elected directly by each of the academic departments or schools in the degree-granting colleges of the university, the College of Law, and the University Libraries.

The Faculty Senate shall serve as the official voice of the university faculty of Northern Illinois University and as the authoritative representative liaison body between the faculty and the University Council, the president of the university, the executive vice president and provost, other vice presidents with respect to their responsibilities affecting the faculty, and the Board of Trustees. 

In accordance with the Preamble and Article 7.3 of the university Constitution and the stated commitment to university governance as a shared process, the Faculty Senate shall serve the following purposes: 

  1. To promote the representation of the faculty in the governance of the university;
  2. To encourage active faculty participation in the development of university policies and procedures;
  3. To discuss and recommend as a Faculty Senate policies affecting the university as a whole;
  4. To promote the welfare of the faculty and the university.

For details see Constitution and Bylaws of Northern Illinois University.

Meets monthly on Wednesday from 3 to 5 p.m.