Membership of Unity in Diversity Steering Committee

  1. The Unity in Diversity Steering Committee is directly responsible to the vice president for Student Affairs and shall consist of personnel as listed below under membership. Appointments will be made by the relevant campus student organization, administrative unit or entity. The faculty members at large shall be nominated by the Faculty Senate. The supportive professional staff representative and the operating staff representative shall be nominated by their respective councils.

    The vice president for Student Affairs may appoint up to three additional voting members in order to include under-represented university constituencies. Those members shall serve one-year renewable terms. Terms of service for all other members shall be two years not limited to one term, unless otherwise stated, and staggered to provide overlapping membership. All terms commence August 15. Each Unity in Diversity Steering Committee member shall have one vote.

    The vice president for Student Affairs shall appoint a chair in the spring for the succeeding two years. The student co-chair(s) shall be appointed by the Campus Activities Board/Unity in Diversity. One of the Student Association representatives shall be the Student Association Cultural Relations Adviser or designee.

    It is expected that the SA minority relations advisor or designee will represent the interests of such minority organizations as the LGBC, NATIONS, and others not specifically represented.

  2. The duties of the Unity in Diversity Steering Committee shall be to coordinate the university's Unity in Diversity activities and calendar of events designed to acknowledge, educate, and celebrate the diversity of the Northern Illinois University campus community relative to race, gender, sexual orientation, culture, religion, and physical ability.


Center for Southeast Asian Studies  
Center for Black Studies  Derrick Smith  Derrick Smith
Educational Services & Programs Quincy Paden  
Faculty-at-large (2) J. D. Bowers  J. D. Bowers
  David Valentiner David Valentiner
Operating Staff Nancy Schuneman  
Supportive Professional Staff Mark Pietrowski Mark Pietrowski
University Libraries  
Latino Resource Center Emily Prieto  
Women's Resource Center Jill Dunlap Jill Dunlap
Campus Activities Board (2)

Center for Accessibility Resources Garth Rubin Garth Rubin
Division of Student Affairs (2) Jill Zambito
Cheytaya Brown
Jill Zambito
Student Involvement & Leadershiip Development Karla Neal  Karla Neal
Residence Hall Association  
Student Association (3) Mona Farraj  
Presidential Commission on Sexual Oreientation and Gender Identity Margie Cook   
Underrepresented University Constituencies (3) Bobby Wilkerson 
Michelle Pickett
* Chair