Any committee name changes, alterations in the committee description, or changes in committee duties listed in the Committees of the University need the approval of the University Council. The exception to this is the Committees of the University 1996-1997. For this edition, Charles U. Larson, executive secretary of the University Council, was given editorial privilege by the University Council in connection with the work of the 1995 Task Force on Committee Restructuring.

I. Committees Reporting Directly to the University Council

Academic Planning Council (APC)
Athletic Board
Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
Committee on Advanced Professional Certification in Education (CAPCE)
Committee on Initial Teacher Certification (CITC)
Graduate Council (GC)
Undergraduate Coordinating Council (UCC)
University Assessment Panel (UAP)
University Benefits Committee

II. Committees Reporting Indirectly to the University Council

Computing Facilities Advisory Committee
Faculty Grievance Committee
International Programs Advisory Council
Libraries Advisory Committee
Library Council
Northern Star Publications Board
Responsible Conduct of Scholarship Committee
University Class II Judicial Board
University Judicial Advisory Board
University Outreach Advisory Committee

III. Committees Not Normally Within the Jurisdiction of the University Council

Academic Policies and Procedures Manual Advisory Committee
Affirmative Action and Diversity Resources Committee
Campus Parking Committee
College Councils
College Curriculum Committees
College Senates
Council of Deans
Committee on Ethics and Professionalism
Educational Services and Programs Advisory Committee
Faculty Development and Instructional Design Advisory Committee
Finance and Facilities Division Cabinet
Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee
Institutional Biosafety Committee
Institutional Review Board
Intellectual Property Committee
Laser Safety Committee
Nature Preserves and Research Committee
Operating Staff Council
Parking Appeals Committee
Presidential Commission on the Status of Minorities
Presidential Commission on Persons with Disabilities
Presidential Commission on the Status of Women
Presidential Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity
Radiation Safety Committee
Student Affairs Professional Staff Advisory Committee
Supportive Professional Staff Council
Unity in Diversity Steering Committee
University Press Board
University Scholarships Committee

IV. Committees Reporting Through University Council Committees

Academic Reinstatement Committees
Admissions Policies and Academic Standards Committee (APAS)
Committee for the Improvement of Undergraduate Education (CIUE)
Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Environment (CUAE)
Committee on the Undergraduate Curriculum (CUC)
General Education Committee (GEC)
Honors Committee (HC)

V. The Faculty Senate