Library Council  


Membership of Library Council

  1. The Library Council shall consist of five elected members of the library faculty who are on full-time tenure or tenure-track appointment.  At least four of the five members shall be tenured.  The untenured member shall not be present during consideration or review of promotion, tenure, and sabbatical applications, but shall vote on the participate in all other functions of the Library Council.  The dean of the University Libraries shall serve as a non-voting chair of the Library Council.

    All elected member of the Library Council shall have served at least twenty-four months from time of appointment as full-time faculty of the University Libraries by the time their Council terms begin.

    Each member of the Library Council shall represent the library faculty as a whole.

    The Administrative Staff, consisting of the dean, associate director (s), assistant director(s), as well as any other library faculty member who reports regularly to the dean, shall be ineligible for election to the Library Council.

  2. The duties of the Library Council shall be:

    1. To recommend policy on behalf of the library faculty and to act in an advisory capacity to the dean of University Libraries;

    2. To formulate procedures for the appointment of new personnel and to review and make personnel recommendations to the dean of University Libraries in such areas as annual evaluations, tenure, promotion, salary increments, and leaves.

*@Dean, University Libraries  Arthur Young Arthur Young  
 Faculty  Jim Millhorn Jim Millhorn  
Faculty **Nestor Osario Nestor Osario  
 Faculty Byron Anderson Jitka Hurych Jitka Hurych
Faculty Jana Brubaker Jana Brubaker Jana Brubaker
Faculty Rob Ridinger Rod Ridinger  
* Chair
** Vice Chair
@ Ex Officio, nonvoting