(Bylaws, Article 13.67)

Membership of  CUAE

A.     The Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Environment shall consist of the following members:

        One faculty representative from the Undergraduate Coordinating Council (UCC) chosen by the faculty of the Undergraduate Coordinating Council;

        One faculty representative shall be appointed by the curriculum committee of each undergraduate degree-granting college and one faculty representative shall be
        appointed from the University Libraries;

        Four undergraduate  student members, at least one to be a nontraditional student, shall be selected by CUAE from nominees submitted by the student advisory
        committees of the undergraduate degree-granting colleges; one student to be nominated for membership on the UCC;

        A student representative of the Student Association appointed by the president of the Student Association;

        A student representative from the Campus Activities Board appointed by the chair of that board.

        The following shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the committee: vice provost responsible for undergraduate education; vice provost for Student
        Affairs; representative from Student Housing Services, appointed by the director; a representative from University Programming and Activities, appointed by the

        The chair shall be elected by the voting members of the Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Environment and shall serve a one-year renewable term
        beginning in the fall semester.

        Faculty members shall serve three-year staggered terms, renewable, beginning in fall semester.

        Student members shall serve one-year, renewable, terms beginning in fall semester.

B.     Duties

        The Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Environment shall have the responsibility to:

        1.     Promote a campus atmosphere which will be maximally conducive to learning and to stimulation of an appreciation for learning and for the arts, the
                humanities, the sciences, and the professions;

        2.     Monitor and evaluate the campus environment from the perspective of its compatibility with and support for the learning process and the development of an
                appreciation for learning and to recommend policies and programs to strengthen that environment;

        3.     Evaluate the interface between the curricular and extra-curricular aspects of campus life, and to recommend policies and programs to strengthen that

        4.     Evaluate the impact of campus housing policies and facilities upon the learning environment, and, when necessary, to recommend policies and programs
                designed to make that impact more constructive to the learning environment;

        5.     Analyze the adequacy of the campus support facilities for the learning environment, and to make recommendations for their improvement;

        6.     Undertake such specific studies and analyses of the campus learning environment as may be prescribed for it by the UCC.

UCC Faculty C. T. Lin  C. T. Lin  
Business *Sally Webber Donnavieve Smith Donnavieve Smith Donnavieve Smith
Education Luis Garcia Pam Nelson Pam Nelson Pam Nelson
Engineering & Engineering Technology Nipa Phojanamungkolkij Nipa Phojanamungkolkij 
Health and Human Sciences Elizabeth Miller Ngoyi Bukonda Ngoyi Bukonda Ngoyi Bukonda
Liberal Arts & Sciences Mitrick Johns Mitrick Johns  
Visual and Performing Arts Frank Trankina Kimberly Martens Kimberly Martens Kimberly Martens
University Libraries Roberta Burk *Roberta Burk Roberta Burk 
SA Representative   Keith Kruchten  
CAB, Student Representative  Brooke Beyers    
+ Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education  Robert Wheeler  Earl Seaver  
+Vice Provost for Student Affairs  Gary Gresholdt  Gary Gresholdt  
+ Student Housing Services  William Draper  William Draper  
+ University Programming & Activities  Michelle Bringas Michelle Bringas  
Students (4)  Jamie Murphy - HHS
Oscar Gutierrez - LAS
Sara Neumann - ED
Jade Hogueisson - LAS   
                 * Chair
                 + Ex officio nonvoting