2013-14 Committees of the University

University Marketing & Communications Advisory Council


The University Marketing & Communications Advisory Council shall consist of marketing, alumni and public relations/communications personnel from each of the seven academic colleges and all major university stakeholder units including, but not limited to: Alumni Association; NIU Foundation; University Libraries; Division of Academic Affairs; Division of Marketing & Communications; Division of Student Affairs & Enrollment Management; Division of Outreach, Engagement & Regional Development; Office of the Vice President of Research & Graduate Studies; Division of Administration; Division of Intercollegiate Athletics & Facilities; and the Office of the Chief Information Officer.

Members of the council are recommended by their division vice president and/or dean and appointed by the Vice President of Marketing & Communications, who serves as chair of the council. The Director of University Marketing & Communications serves as vice-chair of the council. Length of terms of committee members is indefinite.

One of the council's main functions is that of serving as a forum to exchange ideas and provide reports on advertising, marketing and/or communications initiatives underway within the colleges, departments and/or divisions to other marketing/communications colleagues in units spread through the university. Synergies and advantages are gained from sharing strategies or research/data findings on best practices and/or marketing approaches that could further stretch the university's dedicated marketing/advertising resources.

In 2014, the University Marketing & Communications Advisory Council will serve as a key stakeholder group to assist the Division of Marketing & Communications in developing and implementing an integrated marketing/communications effort university-wide, to meet the goals announced by President Doug Baker in Fall 2013. On occasion, council members will be requested to assist, as expertise and time permit, in univeresity activities related to marketing and communications. An example of this is now occurring with UMCAC representation on the steering committee for the student-led ELC team charged with assessing and recommending a cohesive communications university strategy for current NIU students to enhance retention goals.

Also in 2014, the University Marketing & Communications Advisory Council will have as its policy foci that of enhancing student retention. Focusing college/departmental and divisional efforts around enhanced marketing/communication oinitiatives to current students is anticipated to help the university's overall effort to substantially increase student retention. Council members will be requested to develop and implement unit-level marketing/communications strategies (in conjunction with their deans/divisional vice presidents) and report on these initiatives at council meetings.

University Marketing & Communications Advisory Council

 The University Marketing & Communications Advisory Council meets every three weeks year-round. 

Administration Celeste Latham
Sandra Woodson
Advancement Lorraine Propheter, Alumni Association
Angela Johansson, Foundation
Sandra Yandle, Northern Fund
Business Michelle DeJean
Mark Misic

Cassandra Young
Education Paul Baker
Kate Braser
Diane Layng
Emily Salvani
Engineering and Engineering Technology Amanda Carrier
Graduate School Eric Biletzky
Health and Human Sciences Carrie Callahan
Stacy Jackson
Information Technology Services Sabrina Hammond, ITS
Brian Thompson, Document Services
Katy Whitelaw, ITS
Intercollegiate Athletics & Facilities Heather Priest
Ryan Sedevie
International Programs Pamela Rosenberg
Law Jacob Imm
Melody Mitchell
Liberal Arts and Sciences Liz Denius, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Jennifer Kirker-Priest, Anthropology Museum
Linda Watson
Marketing & Communications Matt Cabrera, Marketing & Communications
Abigail Dean, University Marketing
Anthony Del Fiacco, Media Services
Wade Duerkes, Photography, Media Services
*Brad Hoey, University Marketing
Jennifer Howard, Videography, Media Services
Len Lennergard, Videography, Media Services
Joan Laurino, Chief of Staff, Communications & Marketing
Alex Montgomery, University Marketing
Jennice O'Brien, Web Communications
Jay Orbik, Media Services
Paul Palian, Media & Public Relations
Mariano Spizzirri, Graphic Design, Media Services
Jeff Strohm, Graphic Design, Publications
Rachel Xidis, Web Communications
Outreach, Engagement & Regional Development Rena Cotsones, Regional Engagement - Rockford
Brian Walk, Outreach
Meryl Sussman, Undergraduate Program for Adults

Public Safety and Community Relations Tom Phillips
Jason John
President's Office Ellen Andersen
Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Greer Blaustein, Campus Recreation
Preston Brown, Undergraduate Admissions

Amy Franklin
Rebecca Soltes
Michael Stang, Housing & Dining
University Libraries TJ Lusher
Visual and Performing Arts David Booth
Blaine Bradford

Lynn Slater

* chair