2013-14 Committees of the University

Committees of the University
Northern Illinois University

Any committee name changes, alterations in the committee description, or changes in committee duties listed in the Committees of the University need the approval of the University Council. For the record, for the 1996-97 edition of the Committees of the University, Charles U. Larson, executive secretary of the University Council, was given editorial privilege by the University Council in connection with the work of the 1995 Task Force on Committee Restructuring.

I. Committees Reporting Directly to the University Council

Academic Planning Council (APC)
Athletic Board
Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
Committee on Advanced Professional Certification in Education (CAPCE)
Committee on Initial Teacher Certification (CITC)
Graduate Council (GC)
Undergraduate Coordinating Council (UCC)
University Assessment Panel (UAP)
University Benefits Committee

II. Committees Reporting Indirectly to the University Council

Community Standards & Student Conduct Advisory Board
Computing Facilities Advisory Committee
Faculty Grievance Committee
International Programs Advisory Council
Libraries Advisory Committee
Library Council
Northern Star Publications Board
Student Conduct Board
University Outreach Advisory Committee

III. Committees Not Normally Within the Jurisdiction of the University Council

Academic Diversity Programs Advisory Committee (ADPAC)
Academic Policies and Procedures Manual Advisory Committee
Affirmative Action and Diversity Resources Advisory Committee
Campus Parking Committee
Chemical Safety Committee
College Councils
College Curriculum Committees
College Senates
Committee on Multicultural Curriculum Transformation
Council of Deans
Committee on Ethics and Professionalism
Educational Services and Programs Advisory Committee
Faculty Development and Instructional Design Advisory Committee
Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee
Institutional Biosafety Committee
Institutional Review Board
Intellectual Property Committee
Laser Safety Committee
Operating Staff Council
Parking Appeals Committee
Presidential Commission on the Status of Minorities
Presidential Commission on Persons with Disabilities
Presidential Commission on the Status of Women
Presidential Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity
Radiation Safety Committee
Supportive Professional Staff Council
Unity in Diversity Steering Committee
University Communications Advisory Council
University Press Board
University Scholarships Committee

IV. Committees Reporting Through University Council Committees

Academic Reinstatement Committees
Admissions Policies and Academic Standards Committee (APAS)
Committee for the Improvement of Undergraduate Education (CIUE)
Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Environment (CUAE)
Committee on the Undergraduate Curriculum (CUC)
General Education Committee (GEC)
Graduate Council Curriculum Committee (GCCC)
Honors Committee (HC)

V. The Faculty Senate