2013-14 Committees of the University

Committee on Advanced Professional Certification in Education (CAPCE)

Membership of CAPCE

  1. Responsibilities
    The basic purpose of the Committee on Advanced Professional Certification in Education is to serve as a coordinating body regarding policies, curriculum, and procedures pertaining to advanced professional certification programs at Northern Illinois University.

  2. Membership


One faculty seat shall be allocated for each advanced professional certification program as approved by CAPCE.

Each faculty representative shall have only one vote per advanced certification program being represented.

Faculty representatives shall be selected annually by the academic department faculties having administrative responsibility for the advanced certification program(s).  Each department shall notify the university coordinator of teacher certification of the faculty member selected to serve on CAPCE.  Each department should acknowledge that responsible membership on CAPCE and its subcommittees may require a substantial commitment of time on the part of the program representatives, and this should be taken into account when program representatives are selected and the merit procedure is undertaken each year.

Each program representative has the authority to speak for that program in discussions and votes of CAPCE.  The same person, or his/her designee, will serve as the official program contact person outside of CAPCE meetings when questions relating to that advanced professional certification program arise within the university.  Each program representative is responsible for keeping other program faculty appropriately informed of pertinent actions of and issues being addressed by the CAPCE, for keeping CAPCE informed of pertinent news and developments related to certification, and referring CAPCE related inquiries appropriately.


The student representative shall have one vote.


Ex officio members of the CAPCE shall include a representative from the office of the provost, a representative from the office of the dean of the Graduate School, the university certification officer and the university coordinator of teacher certification

Ex officio members shall serve without vote.


A faculty member serving on the CAPCE shall serve until replaced by the respective certification program.

The student representative shall serve a term of one year beginning on August 16 or as soon as appointed thereafter.

Administration representatives shall serve as long as each person continues to hold the office upon which representation is based, or as long as the person shall be a duly recognized designee.


The committee shall elect a chair-elect from among the faculty representatives at an organizational meeting each spring term for the following year.

After serving one year the chair shall succeed to the office of past chair and shall serve in the office for one year.

In the absence of the chair the duties as presiding officer shall be exercised by the chair-elect.  In the absence of both the chair and the chair-elect the past chair shall serve as the presiding officer.

The terms of office of the new chair-elect, chair, and past chair shall begin at the start of the academic year.


The recording secretary shall see that the CAPCE minutes and reports are forwarded to the university coordinator of teacher certification to be deposited in the university archives and distributed in timely fashion to the University Council, the Faculty Senate, the CAPCE membership and such others as deemed appropriate by CAPCE.

The term of the secretary shall begin at the start of the academic year.

Committee on Advanced Professional Certification in Education (CAPCE)

The CAPCE meets on the first Monday of the month during the academic year.

Chief School Business Official Brad Hawk Brad Hawk
General Administrative (Principal) Teresa Wasonga Teresa Wasonga
Reading Specialist Susan L'Allier Susan L'Allier
School Guidance Counselor Charles Myers Charles Myers
Library Information Specialist Rebecca Butler Rebecca Butler
School Psychologist Christine Malecki *Christine Malecki
Speech-Language Pathology Sarah Potter Sarah Potter
Superintendent Joe Saban Joe Saban
Learning Behavior Specialist II Laura Hedin
Bilingual/ESL John Evar Strid Mayra Daniel
Technology Specialist John Cowan John Cowan
Mathematics Mary Shafer Mary Shafer
Literacy Education John Evar Strid
xVice Provost Anne Birberick Anne Birberick
xCollege of Education Associate Dean Connie Fox  
xGraduate School representative Bradley Bond Brad Bond
xTeacher Certification Assessment Coordinator Carrie Zack  
x Coordinator UOTC and Certification Officer J.D. Bowers  
x AVP and Licensure Office Jenny Parker
# Academic Advising Center Steve Barleen
# Assessment Coordinator Carolinda Douglass
# Chair, Department of Educational Technology and Research Assessment Lara Luetkehans
# Advisor for Illinois Library Media, ETRA Karen Woodworth-Roman
# Department of Allied Health and Communicative Disorders Pat Tattersall
# Chair, Department of Psychology Greg Waas

* chair
x nonvoting
# interested party