2012-13 Committees of the University

College Senates
(Bylaws, Article 15.1.2)

  1. The College Senate shall consist of the departmental chairs of the college and the dean or deans of the college. The dean, or the dean's designee, shall serve as chair of the senate and be responsible for preparing the agenda.

  2. The College Senate shall consider and review administrative matters of the college and advise the dean of the college on such matters.

    College Senates Membership 2012-2013

    College of Business
    Denise Schoenbachler, dean
    Daniel Wunsch, associate dean for administration
    Elizabeth Towell, associate dean for undergraduate programs
    Paul Prabhaker, associate dean for graduate programs

    Jim Young, chair, Department of Accountancy
    Marc Simpson, chair, Department of Finance
    Sarah Marsh, chair, Department of Management
    Geoffrey Gordon, chair, Department of Marketing
    Chang Liu, chair, Department of Operations Management and Information Systems

    College of Education
    La Vonne I. Neal, dean
    Jeffrey B. Hecht, associate dean
    Connie Fox, associate dean
    Suzanne Willis, interim chair, Department of Counseling, Adult and Higher Education
    Lara Luetkehans, chair, Department of Educational Technology, Research and Assessment
    Paul Carpenter, chair, Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
    Marc VanOverbeke, interim chair, Department of Leadership, Educational Psychology and Foundations
    Jennifer Berne, chair, Department of Literacy Education
    Sharon Smaldino, LD & Ruth G. Morgridge Endowed Chair for Teacher Education, Partnership Office
    Terry Borg, director of external programs
    Betsy Hull, assistant to the dean
    Paul Baker, director of college relations

    College of Engineering and Engineering Technology


    Promod Vohra, dean
    Mansour Tahernezhadi, associate dean
    Omar Ghrayeb, associate dean, Outreach & Undergraduate Program Chairs:
    Ibrahim Abdel-Motaleb, chair, Department of Electrical Engineering
    Cliff Mirman, chair, Department of Engineering Technology
    Purush Damodaran, chair, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
    Pradip Majumdar, chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering

    College of Health and Human Sciences
    Derryl Block, dean
    Mary Pritchard, associate dean

    Jan Strom, School of Nursing and Health Studies
    Tom Pavkov, chair, School of Family, Consumer and Nutrition Science
    Deb Gough, chair, School of Allied Health and Communicative Disorders
    David Dosier, Department of Military Science

    College of Liberal Arts and Sciences


    Chris McCord, dean, chair
    Sue Doederlein, associate dean for undergraduate affairs
    Michael Peddle, associate dean for academic administration
    Lesley Rigg, associate dean for research and graduate affairs


    Kendall Thu, chair, Department of Anthropology
    Barrie Bode, chair, Department of Biological Sciences
    Jon Carnahan, chair, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
    Gary Burns, chair, Department of Communication
    Nicholas Karonis, chair, Department of Computer Science
    Virginia Wilcox-Gok, chair, Department of Economics
    Amy Levin, chair, Department of English
    Katharina Barbe, chair, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
    Andrew Krmenec, chair, Department of Geography
    Colin Booth, chair, Department of Geology and Environmental Geosciences
    Beatrix Hoffman, chair, Department of History
    Bernard Harris, chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences
    David Buller, chair, Department of Philosophy
    Laurence Lurio, chair, Department of Physics
    Matthew Streb, chair, Department of Political Science
    Gregory Waas, chair, Department of Psychology
    Kirk Miller, chair, Department of Sociology

    Reed Scherer, director, Environmental Studies Program
    Michael Gonzales, director, Center for Latino and Latin American Studies
    Nancy Castle, interim director, Center for NGO Leadership & Development
    Kurt Thurmaier, director, Division of Public Administration
    Judy Ledgerwood, director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
    Rama Lingham, director, Division of Statistics
    TBD, director, Women's Studies Program

    Stephanie DeCicco, assistant to the dean
    Tammy Stevens, business administrative associate

    College of Visual and Performing Arts

    Richard Holly, dean
    Deborah Robertson, associate dean

    Douglas Boughton, director, School of Art
    Paul Bauer, director, School of Music
    Alexander Gelman, director, School of Theatre and Dance
    Jo Burke, director, NIU Art Museum
    Deborah Booth, director, CVPA External Programs

    Susan Carter, assistant to the dean/CVPA business manager