2011-12 Committees of the University

Academic Planning Council (APC)

(Bylaws, Article 14.3)

Membership of APC
Minutes of APC

  1. The Academic Planning Council shall consist of representation from the faculty, the students, and the administration

    Fourteen faculty representatives to be chosen as follows: two each from the Colleges of Business, Education, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Health and Human Sciences, and Visual and Performing Arts; one from the College of Law; three from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (one each from the areas of the humanities, social sciences, and other sciences);

    Faculty representatives shall be elected by the college council or college faculty of the college they represent. They shall serve three-year staggered terms beginning with the fall semester. If no elected faculty representative is a voting member of the Faculty Senate, the senate shall elect one senate member to serve on the council as an ex officio nonvoting member. No department shall have more than one faculty representative at any one time.

    Two students, one undergraduate and one graduate, shall be appointed annually as voting members of the council. The appointments shall be made by the president of the Student Association from a list of nominees submitted by the college student advisory committees. Each student advisory committee shall be entitled to nominate annually one undergraduate and one graduate student, as appropriate to degrees offered in that college. Terms of office for student members shall begin at the start of the fall semester; no such term shall extend beyond the start of the succeeding fall semester. Students shall be eligible for reappointment to successive terms.

    The executive vice president and provost shall serve ex officio as chair. The following, or their designees, shall serve as ex officio nonvoting members:

    vice provost responsible for undergraduate education;
    vice president for research and graduate studies;
    vice provost for academic development and planning;
    vice provost for resource planning;
    dean of the University Libraries;
    director of the office of Institutional Research.

    The faculty representatives on the council shall elect from among their members a faculty representative who shall serve as the assistant chair of the council. The assistant chair shall be chosen annually at the first meeting of the council each fall semester and shall serve a renewable term of one year. Others who may be directly involved in issues concerning academic programs may assist the committee as resource personnel.

  2. Duties shall be: working with the colleges and departments, and in reporting to the University Council, the Academic Planning Council shall:

    1. Prepare and periodically update the academic mission statement for Northern Illinois University;
    2. Develop and periodically update plans and strategies to fulfill the university's academic mission;
    3. Develop and implement procedures for the periodic review of academic programs in terms of their quality, achievement of student learning outcomes, and their consistency with the institution's academic mission;
    4. Advise the executive vice president and provost on academic priorities and strategies for the achievement of those priorities, including the establishment of priorities in budgeting;
    5. Make recommendations to the colleges and departments on the implementation, development, and follow-up of future plans for programs and research/service units;
    6. The chair, the assistant chair, and such other faculty members as the council may designate shall comprise a committee to prepare the agenda for meetings of the council.

Council minutes and reports are to be distributed to all University Council and Faculty Senate members and deposited in the university archives. All substantive policy recommendations are subject to University Council approval.

Academic Planning Council (APC)

The APC meets on selected Mondays during the academic year at 3 p.m.

*^Executive Vice President & Provost Raymond Alden  Raymond Alden            
Business Geoffrey Gordon Geoffrey Gordon Geoffrey Gordon
Business Marc Simpson Marc Simpson Marc Simpson
Education Myoungwhon Jung Myoungwhon Jung
Education Lisa Baumgartner    Lisa Baumgartner Lisa Baumgartner
Engineering & Eng. Technology Richard Marcellus Purushothaman Damodaran Purushothaman Damodaran Purushothaman Damodaran    
Engineering & Eng. Technology Andrew Otieno Ibrahim Abdel-Motaleb Ibrahim Abdel-Motaleb Ibrahim Abdel-Motaleb
Health and Human Sciences Mary Koren Mary Koren Mary Koren
Health and Human Sciences **Aimee Prawitz **Aimee Prawitz
Law Marc Falkoff Marc Falkoff
Liberal Arts & Sciences - Humanities David Gorman David Gorman David Gorman  
Liberal Arts & Sciences - Social Sciences Leslie Matuszewich Leslie Matuszewich Leslie Matuszewich
Liberal Arts & Sciences - Other Sciences Zhuan Ye Zhuan Ye
Visual & Performing Arts John Novak      
Visual & Performing Arts                  
Student (Graduate) Jim Carter            
Student (Undergraduate) Daniel Matousek Kelsey Shockey            
+Vice Provost responsible for undergraduate education or designee Earl Seaver Anne Birberick            
+Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies or designee James Erman Brad Bond (designee)            
+Vice Provost for Academic Planning & Development or designee Virginia Cassidy  Virginia Cassidy            
+Vice Provost for Resource Planning or designee Joseph Grush  Sue Mini            
+Dean of the University Libraries or designee Patrick Dawson  Patrick Dawson             
+Director of the Office of Institutional Research or designee J. Daniel House  J. Daniel House               

* chair
^ ex officio
+ ex officio, nonvoting
**assistant chair