Student Teaching

Exemplary Student Teacher Award

The Exemplary Student Teacher Recognition Award Program was developed in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences to recognize the achievements of outstanding student teachers in CLAS licensure programs. Student teachers who have demonstrated excellence in the many facets of the teaching profession (e.g., planning and organization, engagement of students in active learning, assessment of student learning, integrating multiple methods of instruction to reach different learning styles, and professionalism both with colleagues and students in and out of the classroom) may be nominated, either by their cooperating teacher and/or their university supervisor.

These recipients are honored at a ceremony held at the end of the spring semester. They also receive a certificate of recognition for their credential file and a book on teaching.

2012-2013 Exemplary Student Teacher Award Winners

Pictured below are the winners present at the May 6, 2013, Exemplary Student Teacher Award Ceremony. The ceremony was held in the Illinois Room of the Holmes Student Center at Northern Illinois University.

Exemplary Student Teacher Award Recipients 2012-2013

From left to right:  Rikki Knutti (English); Jacob Spottiswood (History); Natalie Boone (English); Christopher Robinson (History); Eric Moore (Mathematical Sciences); Anna Strozza (Foreign Languages & Literatures); Jessica Hellwig (Physics); and Leah Johnson (Geology)

Not pictured:  Cody Happ (Foreign Languages & Literatures); Andrew Heimer (Chemistry & Biochemistry); and Alan Daniels (Biological Sciences)