Quick Navigation

About Us


Organization of SmartSpace@NIU

Organization of SmartSpace@NIU


SmartSpace@NIU is made possible by participants, community partners, project teams, and the steering committee. Mary Baker coordinates SmartSpace@NIU-related initiatives.

Steering Committee

The SmartSpace@NIU Steering Committee is comprised of Northern Illinois University administrators, faculty, and staff. The committee monitors progress toward goals, builds internal and external support, and oversees the development of a viable business plan for SmartSpace@NIU. 

Project Teams

Project teams are responsible for developing, implementing, evaluating, and improving each SmartSpace@NIU activity.

Community Partners

The external partners include community members who provide direction and guidance for SmartSpace@NIU. 


Program and course participants provide valuable feedback on their experiences and influence school, program, and course development. 

Members of the SmartSpace@NIU Steering Committee

Melanie Bickley

Clinical Experience and Student Placement Coordinator, CLAS

Felicia Bohanon

Director, Pre-Collegiate Programs and Upward Bound

Kristin Brynteson

Assistant Director, P-20 Center

 Aline Click

Director, eLearning and the Digital Convergence Lab

Jon Furr

Director, Office of Education System Innovation

Jon Miller

Director, Center for Secondary Science and Math Education

Jenny Parker

Associate Vice Provost, University Office of Educator Licensure and Preparation

Andrew Pemberton (Co-Chair)

Outreach and Engagement Associate, Outreach Communications

Sharon Smaldino (Co-Chair)

Morgridge Endowed Research Chair, Office of Partnerships

Bart Woodstrup

Assistant Professor, College of Visual and Performing Arts