Sigma Tau Delta Journals

The Sigma Tau Delta journals publish annually the best writing and criticism of undergraduate and graduate active chapter members of the Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society.

All active undergraduate and graduate members of active Sigma Tau Delta chapters are invited to submit their work to The Sigma Tau Delta Review and The Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle. Chapter Sponsors, faculty members, alumni (including members of the Alumni Epsilon Chapter), and honorary members are not eligible to submit.

Submissions for 2016 journals will be accepted between April 6 and May 11, 2015.

The Sigma Tau Delta Review

The Sigma Tau Delta Review CoverThe Sigma Tau Delta Review (founded in 2005) is an annual journal that publishes critical essays on literature, essays on rhetoric and composition, and essays devoted to pedagogical issues. Submissions should not exceed 3,000 words. Critical essays must follow the Modern Language Association style guidelines as defined in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (latest edition).

The Sigma Tau Delta Review - Current Issue


The Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle

The Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle CoverThe Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle (founded in 1931) is an annual journal of creative writing that publishes fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. Submissions should not exceed 2,500 words.

The Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle - Current Issue




Publication and Awards

These journals are refereed, with jurors from across the country selecting those members to be published. The journals have had illustrious head judges including: Jane Brox, Henri Cole, Jim Daniels, W.D. Earhardt, CJ Hribal, Kyoko Mori, Lisa Russ Spaar, and Mako Yoshikawa, to name a few.

The best writing is chosen, from around 1,000 submissions, for publication. Not only do these publications go to chapters worldwide, but they also honor the best writing in each category, with six awards totaling $2,400. There is also an annual reading at the international convention by any of the published writers in attendance.

Award categories:

  • E. Nelson James Poetry Award ($400)
  • Eleanor B. North Poetry Award ($400)
  • Frederic Fadner Critical Essay Award ($400)
  • Herbert L. Hughes Short Story Award ($400)
  • Elizabeth Holtze Creative Nonfiction Award ($400)
  • Judson Q. Owen Award for Best Piece Overall ($400)

Award Winners

2014-2015 Winners

Past Winners