Undergraduate Programs


The Elizabeth J. Schwantes Undergraduate Scholarship

Recipients of this award must be declared psychology majors who have completed at least 36 semester credit hours at NIU, including at least nine credit hours in psychology, maintained a GPA of 3.50 or higher, and been endorsed by one or more departmental faculty members for their outstanding academic efforts.

The Deans' Award

Established in 1970 by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the Dean's Award is intended to give recognition to senior students who have made outstanding contributions to their major department and/or the university community at large.  Recipients from the Psychology Department must receive faculty endorsement, and they are expected to have displayed leadership, conspicuous service, and have an excellent scholastic record with a 3.0 GPA or better. 

The Department Outstanding Research/Scholar Award

This monetary award of $200 and accompanying certificate is presented annually to a senior psychology major who has demonstrated great scholarly potential through both their research efforts and overall academic excellence.  Recipients must also be endorsed by a faculty member and have at least a 3.0 GPA in both their general university and psychology coursework.

The A. Bond & Margaret F. Woodruff Scholarship Award

Emphasizing scholarship and academic achievement, recipients must be enrolled full-time, have a GPA of 3.0 or better, and be of junior or senior standing at the time of the scholarship's awarding.  The monetary value of this scholarship is approximately $600, and because it is intended to be applied to tuition, books, and other related costs, the financial needs of its applicants are taken into account during the selection process.  Because this scholarship is effectively shared with the School of Music, psychology undergraduates may only apply for the award during even-numbered school years (2010, 2012, etc.).

The Joe and Karen Grush Endowed Scholarship in Psychology and Nursing

Awarded annually to a junior or senior student majoring in either Psychology or Nursing and Health Studies, this scholarship is intended to provide support to those with a strong history of service within their community.  A minimum GPA of 3.25 in both their major and general coursework is also required.  The receiving department will alternate each year between Psychology and Nursing and Health Studies, with a student from the Department of Psychology serving as the first recipient in 2010.

Other Scholarship Opportunities

See here for other scholarship opportunities that are available for undergraduate students.