Graduate Program in Developmental Psychology

Developmental Psychology Faculty

Nina Mounts

Professor (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1990)
Office: 316 Psychology
Phone: 815-753-6968
E-mail: nmounts@niu.edu
Profile: http://www.niu.edu/psyc/faculty/mounts
Research interests: Social development; parent-child relationships; peer relationships; adolescent development; linkages between parenting and peer relationships

Bradford Pillow

Associate Professor (Ph.D., Stanford University, 1986)
Office: 353 Psychology
Phone: 815-753-7079
E-mail: pillow@niu.edu
Profile: http://www.niu.edu/psyc/faculty/pillow
Homepage: http://bradfordpillow.weebly.com/
Research interests: Cognitive development; metacognition and social cognition; children’s perspective-taking abilities; children’s conceptions of cognitive processes; children’s explanations of others’ actions

Gregory Waas

Associate Professor (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1986)
Office: 411 Psychology
Phone: 815-753-7065
E-mail: gwaas@niu.edu
Home page: http://www3.niu.edu/psychology/ISPA/waas.html
Profile: http://www.niu.edu/psyc/faculty/waas.shtml
Research interests: Social and personality development; social cognition; peer relations; cognitive behavior therapy

Additional faculty with interest in children and families:

David J. Bridgett

Associate Professor Clinical Psychology (Ph.D., Washington State University, 2008)
E-mail:  dbridgett1@niu.edu
Homepage: http://www.niu.edu/emotionreg/
Research interests:  Emotion regulation and temperament

Michelle K. Demaray

Professor School Psychology
E-mail: mkdemaray@niu.edu
Profile: http://www.niu.edu/psyc/faculty/demaray.shtml
Homepage: http://www.niu.edu/demaray/
Research interests: Bullying and victimization, social support, Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD); social-emotional issues in schools.

Christine K. Malecki

Professor School Psychology
E-mail: cmalecki@niu.edu
Profile: http://www.niu.edu/psyc/faculty/malecki.shtml
Homepage: http://www.niu.edu/cmalecki/
Research interests:  Students' perceived social support, curriculum-based measurement (CBM), academic achievement

Laura D. Pittman

Associate Professor Clinical Psychology (Ph.D., University of Connecticut, 1996)
E-mail: lpittman@niu.edu
Homepage: http://niu.edu/pittmanlab/
Research interests:  developmental psychopathology, family processes and socioemotional functioning.