Ryanne Mace Memorial Scholarship Fund

Intended to honor the life and memory of Ryanne Mace, this fund shall provide financial support to graduate students in the Department of Psychology who are training in the areas of clinical or school psychology and are committed to the professional goal of providing mental health services to community members.  Learn more about the fund and its requirements here.

The Elizabeth J. Schwantes Undergraduate Scholarship

Recipients of this award must be declared psychology majors who have completed at least 36 semester credit hours at NIU, including at least nine credit hours in psychology, maintained a GPA of 3.50 or higher, and been endorsed by one or more departmental faculty members for their outstanding academic efforts.

The Department Outstanding Research/Scholar Award

This monetary award of $200 and accompanying certificate is presented annually to a senior psychology major who has demonstrated great scholarly potential through both their research efforts and overall academic excellence.  Recipients must also be endorsed by a faculty member and have at least a 3.0 GPA in both their general university and psychology coursework.

The A. Bond & Margaret F. Woodruff Scholarship Award

Emphasizing scholarship and academic achievement, recipients must be enrolled full-time, have a GPA of 3.0 or better, and be of junior or senior standing at the time of the scholarship's awarding.  The monetary value of this scholarship is approximately $600, and because it is intended to be applied to tuition, books, and other related costs, the financial needs of its applicants are taken into account during the selection process.  Because this scholarship is effectively shared with the School of Music, psychology undergraduates only receive consideration for the award during even-numbered school years (2010, 2012, etc.).

Dr. Gary Coover Travel Fund for Graduate Students

This fund provides financial assistance to help cover the travel expenses incurred by graduate students within the Department of Psychology and their respective faculty advisors, with the intention of supporting their mentoring and networking efforts at both national and international scientific meetings.  The scholarship has been established by the family and friends of Dr. Gary Coover, who enjoyed a distinguished career of 31 years at Northern Illinois University.  More information about award criteria and the selection process can be found here.

The Joe and Karen Grush Endowed Scholarship in Psychology and Nursing

Awarded annually to a junior or senior student majoring in either Psychology or Nursing and Health Studies, this scholarship is intended to provide support to those with a strong history of service within their community.  A minimum GPA of 3.25 in both their major and general coursework is also required.  The receiving department will alternate each year between Psychology and Nursing and Health Studies, with a student from the Department of Psychology serving as the first recipient in 2010.