Awards and Honors


  • Britta Rodenbeck: The Elizabeth J. Schwantes Undergraduate Scholarship, 2012-2013
  • Robert Miller III: The Deans' Award, 2012
  • Kristen Rabe: The Department Outstanding Research/Scholar Award, 2012
  • Kayley Bloss: The Department Outstanding Research/Scholar Award, 2012
  • Lisa Wiersema: The A. Bond & Margaret F. Woodruff Scholarship Award, 2012
  • Shaakira Haywood: The Joe and Karen Grush Endowed Scholarship in Psychology Award, 2012
  • Emily Anderson: Departmental Honors
  • Christopher Budnick: Departmental Honors
  • Eva Jarek: Departmental Honors
  • Aaron Kelter: Departmental Honors
  • Marta Kowal: Departmental Honors
  • Kristen Rabe: Departmental Honors
  • Christina Severino: Departmental Honors
  • Brianna Terranova: Departmental Honors
  • Sarah Vadnais: Departmental Honors


  • Ross Knoll, Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award - 2013-2014
  • Jenny Koppen, Dissertation Completion Fellowship – 2013-2014
  • Derrecka Butler, Jeffrey T. Lunsford Fellowship – 2012-2013
  • Melissa London, Jeffrey T. Lunsford Fellowship – 2012-2013
  • Sapir Sasson, University Fellowship – 2013-2014
  • Michael Moenk, Dissertation Completion Fellowship, 2012-2013
  • Jason Raad, Dissertation Completion Fellowship, 2012-2013
  • Joseph Bardeen, Dissertation Completion Fellowship, 2012-2013
  • Brett Wells, Outstanding Graduate Student award in a PhD-level program, 2011-2012
  • Christine Valdez, Outstanding Graduate Student award in a Master's-level program, 2011-2012
  • Erika Torres, Jeffrey T. Lunsford Fellowship, 2011-2012
  • Randy McCarthy, Outstanding Graduate Student award in a PhD-level program, 2010-2011
  • Bettina Zengel, Outstanding Graduate Student award in a Master's-level program, 2010-2011
  • Madhavi Reddy, Graduate School's 2010-2011 Outstanding Dissertation Award
  • Bettina Zengel, University Fellowship Award, 2010-2011
  • Katherine Stephenson, Ryanne Mace Memorial Scholarship, 2010-2011
  • Randy McCarthy, 2nd Place Award Winner, 7th Annual Graduate Student Presentation Contest


  • Congratulations to Dr. Christine Malecki for being named a Presidential Engagement Professor!  This honorary title is meant to acknowledge NIU faculty with outstanding records of community outreach and engagement.  See here for more information. 
  • Congratulations to Dr. Angela Grippo for winning the 2012 American Psychological Association Distinguished Early Career Scientific Contribution award! This is among the highest honors for scientific achievement by psychologists, and it identifies Dr. Grippo as an emerging international leader in the field of health psychology. See here for the complete award citation. 
  • Research conducted by Dr. Holly Orcutt and her collaborator, Dr. Kerry Ressler at Emory University, made national headlines for their work examining genetic influences on the development of posttraumatic stress disorder symptoms. See here for details
  • Congratulations to Dr. Joe Magliano for being named as a Presidential Research Professor. This is the highest honor for research and scholarship that NIU offers and is reserved for those individuals who have achieved national and international reputations in their field. Joe is being honored for his internationally recognized research focusing on complex cognitive processing and the impact this work has had on both theory building and applied practice.
  • Congratulations to Dr. Anne Britt as recipient of one of the 2012 Presidential Teaching Professorships. This is the highest honor for teaching at NIU and recognizes the profound impact Dr. Britt has had on her students, colleagues, and profession. In addition to her outstanding work in the classroom as a model teacher, Dr. Britt is at the forefront of research on teaching and the development of cutting-edge technology for use in the classroom.
  • Dr. Michelle Lilly and NIU research associate Heather Pierce have made national headlines for their study linking indirect exposure to trauma with an increased risk of PTSD.  See here for details.
  • Dr. Melissa-Ann Scotti, a postdoctoral fellow in the Grippo Research Lab, was awarded a
    Postdoctoral National Research Service Award (NRSA) from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  Her research is focused on the interactions of social bonding, cardiovascular disease, and oxytocin (a hormone).
  • Dr. Kevin Wu, received the Psychology Department's Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award for 2010.
  • Dr. Alan Rosenbaum was recently awarded the "Linda Saltzman Memorial Intimate Partner Violence Research Award" by the Institute on Violence, Abuse, and Trauma.
  • Dr. Frederick Schwantes, named as January 2010's Professor of the Month by the Omicron Chapter of Lambda Sigma Sophomore Honor Society.
  • Dr. Angela Grippo, received the APA Division 38's Outstanding Contributions to Health Psychology Award for 2009.
  • Dr. Alan Rosenbaum, elected president of the Faculty Senate for its 2009-2010 term.
  • Dr. Jim Corwin, named as a Distinguished Research Professor.