Presidential Research Professors - NIU - Office of the President

Contact Dr. Baker

Office of the President
Altgeld Hall 300
DeKalb, IL 60115


Facebook     Twitter

Presidential Research Professorships

2014 Presidential Research Professors spread NIU’s reputation worldwide

A trio of researchers with international reputations in anthropology, biology and history has been designated as this year’s Presidential Research Professors.

They are linguistic anthropologist Giovanni Bennardo, biologist Ana Calvo and historian Nancy M. Wingfield.

“This award is highly competitive and represents excellence at NIU and beyond,” said Interim Vice President for Research Lesley Rigg. “Because recipients are chosen by their peers, including other Presidential Research Professors, the quality of award recipients is of the highest caliber. The three winners this year represent the breadth and depth of NIU in terms of research quality and creative endeavors.”

The Presidential Research Professorship is NIU’s top recognition for outstanding research or artistry. The award has been given out annually since 1982 in recognition and support of NIU’s research and artistic mission.

Award winners receive financial support of their research for four years, during which they are expected to carry out a continuous program of research or creative artistry during the period of their appointments. After four years, they earn the title of Distinguished Research Professors.

Read More >