Quick Navigation

News Releases

April 12, 2010

NIU to hold naming ceremony for John E. La Tourette Hall

What: Northern Illinois University will hold a naming ceremony for the newly designated John E. La Tourette Hall, formerly known as the Faraday Hall West building.

Where: The foyer of John E. La Tourette Hall (formerly Faraday Hall West) on the NIU campus.

When: 10 a.m. Tuesday, April 13, 2010; space is limited, so members of the media should arrive early.


  • NIU President John Peters
  • Marc Strauss, chair of the NIU Board of Trustees
  • Eddie Williams, NIU’s executive vice president for business and finance and chief of operations
  • Christopher McCord, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Former NIU President John La Tourette

Why: The NIU Board of Trustees voted in December to rename Faraday Hall West in honor of John La Tourette, who served as NIU president from 1986 to 2000. The building first opened in 1995, during the midst of his tenure as university president. It represents one of his many achievements at NIU.

# # #

Media Contact: Tom Parisi, NIU Media Relations and Internal Communications
Phone: (815) 753-3635
Email: tparisi@niu.edu