Student Bar Association

NIU Law has many student organizations which provide an excellent opportunity for students to become more involved in their law school community. The Student Bar Association (SBA) serves as the "umbrella organization" of the law school because it allocates funding to help support the work of other law school organizations. The SBA also sponsors such activities as speakers, a basketball league, picnics, parties, and other activities geared toward the professional, academic, and social interests of the students. Every law student is automatically a member of the SBA and thus may vote for candidates for its governing board. Four representatives are elected in September from the first-year class to serve for the Fall semester.

2014 - 2015 SBA Executive Board of Directors and Representatives

President: Alyssa Freeman - alyssalfreeman@gmail.com

Vice President: Sam Perkins - perkins82182@gmail.com

Secretary: Justin Hastings - justinmh711@gmail.com 

Treasurer: Mas Patel - masumpatel1@gmail.com

ABA Representative: Jesse Guth - jesse.guth07@gmail.com

3L Representatives:
Amanda Beveroth - amanda-beveroth@augustana.edu
Sarah Hagan - Sarahelizabethhagan@gmail.com 
Niklas Lofgren - niklas.lofgren22@gmail.com
Clayton Merschbrock - clayton.merschbrock@gmail.com

2L Representatives:
Krystle McNeely - mcneelaw@gmail.com
Michael Hulvey - michael_hulvey@yahoo.com
Cole DeBlaey - coledeblaey@gmail.com
Patti Donahue - zimmerman.patricia@gmail.com

1L Representatives:  TBD

The 2014-2015 Student Bar Association

Pictured above (left to right): First row: Justin Hastings, Jesse Guth, Alyssa Freeman, Sam Perkins, and Masum Patel; Second row: Niklas Lofgren, Clayton Merschbrock, Sarah Hagan, and Amanda Beveroth; Third row: Cole DeBlaey, Patti Donahue, Krystle McNeely, and Michael Hulvey; and Fourth Row: Crystal Agbu, Austin Moore, Jason Montemayor, and Miranda Hernandez.

Faculty Advisor:  
Dean Kathy Coles
(815) 753-0668
kcoles@niu.edu