Living Learning Communities

Living Learning Community

Every floor on campus promotes academic success and offers programming tied to transition students as they move through their years at college. Living Learning Communities go one step further in strengthening connections between students and faculty within a chosen course of study. These dynamic learning communities have some added benefits including:

  • Formal and informal out-of-class interaction with professors in your academic field.
  • Increased opportunity for career information, internships, and professional networking.
  • Access to special facilities and equipment in a supportive learning environment.
  • Educational programs that will enhance your classroom learning.
  • Social and cultural activities with students and faculty.

Each of our programs is unique and interesting. They are jointly sponsored by Housing & Dining and an academic unit of the university. There is at least one faculty advisor from each academic department or college affiliated with each floor. We encourage you to consider joining a Living Learning Community.

Living Learning Communities:

Business Careers House

Contact: Mark Misic
House Coordinator
815-753-6368
misic@niu.edu

Fine Arts House

Contact: Sahin Sahinoglu
House Coordinator
815-753-8259
ssahinoglu@niu.edu

Green Living Community

Contact: Melissa Burlingame
Faculty Advisor
815-753-5987
mburlingame@niu.edu

Honors House

Contact: Kristin Skells
House Coordinator
815-753-9505
kskells1@niu.edu

Reserve Officer Training Corp (ROTC) Floor

Contact: Pat Venners
House Coordinator
815-753-2780
pvenners@niu.edu

Teacher Education and Certification House

Contact: Sheldon Woods PhD
House Coordinator
815-753-8446
cswoods@niu.edu


Exploring Majors House

Contact: Steven Barleen
Associate Director, Academic Advising Center
815-753-2573
emh@niu.edu

Foreign Language Residence Program
Contact: Greg Ross
House Coordinator
815-753-6452
gross@niu.edu

Health Professions House

Contact: Sandi Splansky
House Coordinator
815-753-1891
ssplansky@niu.edu

Leadership & Service

Stephanie Zobac
House Coordinator/Advisor
815-753-8158
szobac@niu.edu 

LGBTQA House

Contact: Molly Holmes
House Coordinator
815-753-5428
mbholmes@niu.edu

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) House

Contact: Melissa Lenczewski
House Coordinator
815-753-7937
melissa@geol.niu.edu

Transfer House

Contact: Katy Saalfeld
Faculty Advisor
815-753-8305
ksaalfeld@niu.edu