Living Learning Communities

Living Learning Community

Every floor on campus promotes academic success and offers programming tied to transition students as they move through their years at college. Living Learning Communities go one step further in strengthening connections between students and faculty within a chosen course of study. These dynamic learning communities have some added benefits including:

  • Formal and informal out-of-class interaction with professors in your academic field.
  • Increased opportunity for career information, internships, and professional networking.
  • Access to special facilities and equipment in a supportive learning environment.
  • Educational programs that will enhance your classroom learning.
  • Social and cultural activities with students and faculty.

Each of our programs is unique and interesting. They are jointly sponsored by Housing & Dining and an academic unit of the university. There is at least one faculty advisor from each academic department or college affiliated with each floor. We encourage you to consider joining a Living Learning Community.

Living Learning Communities:

Business Careers House
Contact: Mark Misic
House Coordinator
815-753-6368
misic@niu.edu

Fine Arts House
Contact: Sahin Sahinoglu
House Coordinator
815-753-8259
ssahinoglu@niu.edu

Green Living Community
Contact: Melissa Burlingame
Faculty Advisor
815-753-5987
mburlingame@niu.edu

Honors House
Contact: JD Bowers
House Coordinator
815-753-9399
jbowersi@niu.edu

Reserve Officer Training Corp (ROTC) Floor
Contact: Rodney Williams
House Coordinator
815-753-1000
rwilliams22@niu.edu

Teacher Education and Certification House
Contact: Jenny Parker
House Coordinator
815-753-6361
jparker@niu.edu



Exploring Majors House
Contact: Susana Das Neves
House Coordinator
815-753-5908
dasneves@niu.edu

Foreign Language Residence Program
Contact: Greg Ross
House Coordinator
815-753-6452
gross@niu.edu

Health Professions House
Contact: Sandi Splansky
House Coordinator
815-753-1891
ssplansky@niu.edu

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) House
Contact: James Benson
House Coordinator
815-753-6764
bensonjames@niu.edu

Transfer House
Contact: Katy Saalfeld
Faculty Advisor
815-753-8305
ksaalfeld@niu.edu