Quick Navigation

Faculty Directory

Department of History Faculty


photo_not_availableAnita Andrew
Associate Professor

E-mail: anzhu1368@yahoo.comaandrew@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-8545
Office: Zulauf 606
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Stanley ArnoldStanley Arnold
Assistant Professor

E-mail: sarnold@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-4907
Office: Zulauf 722
Office Hours:  By appointment only


E. Taylor Atkins

E. Taylor Atkins
Presidential Teaching Professor 

E-mail: etatkins@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6699
Office: Zulauf 702
Office Hours:  By appointment only



barleenSteven Barleen
Instructor

E-mail: SBarleen@niu.edu   
Phone: 753-2536
Office: Academic Advising 100K
Office Hours: by appointment 


Frank Bell

Frank Bell
Advisor, Secondary Teacher Education Programs in History & Social Sciences

E-mail: fbell@niu.edu
Phone: 753-6576
Office: Zulauf 622
Office Hours: By appointment only


Bradley BondBradley Bond
Dean of the Graduate School & Associate Professor

E-mail: bbond@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-7403
Office: Adams 210
I do not currently accept graduate students


JD Bowers J. D. Bowers
Associate Vice Provost of University Honors & Associate Professor 

E-mail: jbowersi@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-9399 
Office: Campus Life 110
Office Hours: Email for appointment 


Andy BrunoAndy Bruno
Assistant Professor

E-mail: abruno2@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 720
Office Hours: By appointment only


Kenton Clymer

Kenton Clymer
Distinguished Research Professor

E-mail: kclymer@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6814
Office: Zulauf 701
Office Hours: By appointment only


photo not availableSundiata Djata
Professor

E-mail: sdjata@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6817
Office: Zulauf 602
Office Hours: By appointment only


Sean Farrell Sean Farrell
Assistant Chair & Associate Professor

E-mail: sfarrel1@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 615
Office Hours: By appointment only


Heidi FehrenbachHeide Fehrenbach
Board of Trustees Professor & Distinguished Research Professor

E-mail: hfehrenbach@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 601
Office Hours: By appointment only 


Damian FernandezDamian Fernandez
Assistant Professor

E-mail: dfernandez@niu.edu
Phone:  815-753-6821
Office: Zulauf 724
Office Hours: By appointment only


Rosemary FeurerRosemary Feurer
Associate Professor

E-mail: rfeurer@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6815
Office: Zulauf 618
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Aaron Fogleman Aaron Spencer Fogleman
Professor

E-mail: aaronfogleman@niu.edu  
Phone: 815-753-6824
Office: Zulauf 613
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Frohardt LaneSarah Frohardt-Lane
Instructor

E-mail: SFrohardtLane@niu.edu   
Class will be taught at Hoffman Estates Campus.  


Valerie Garver Valerie L. Garver
Director of Undergraduate Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: vgarver@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6823
Office: Zulauf 607
Office Hours: By appointment only


Robert HagamanRobert Hagaman
Instructor

E-mail: rhagaman@hotmail.com
Phone: 815-753-6816
Office: Zulauf 608
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Anne Hanley Anne G. Hanley
Director of Graduate Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: ahanley@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6695
Office: Zulauf 615
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Beatrix Hoffman Beatrix Hoffman
Professor

E-mail: beatrix@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 616
Office Hours: By appointment only


Kristin Huffine

Kristin Huffine
Director of the Center for Latino & Latin American Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: khuffine@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6654 or (Latino Ctr.) 815-753-1532 
Office: Zulauf 716 or Latino Ctr. 113
Office Hours: by appointment at the Center for Latino and Latin American Studies, Room 113


Trude JacobsenTrude Jacobsen
Associate Professor

E-mail: tjacobsen1@niu.edu 
Phone: 815-753-8822
Office: Zulauf 714 
Office Hours: By appointment only


Eric Jones Eric Alan Jones
Assistant Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: iloveroti@gmail.com
Office: Pottinger House - 520 College View Court
Phone: 815-293-7753
Office Hours: By appointment only


photo not available

Natalie Joy
Assistant Professor 

E-mail: njoy@niu.edu
Office:  Zulauf 708
Office Hours: By appointment only


Emma Kuby

Emma Kuby
Assistant Professor 

E-mail: ekuby@niu.edu
Office:  Zulauf 710
Office Hours: By appointment only


photo not availableVera Lind
Associate Professor

E-mail: vlind@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 610
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Amanda LittauerAmanda Littauer
Assistant Professor, joint appointment with Women's Studies

E-mail: alittauer@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 614
Office Hours: By appointment only


Kate MaleyKathryn R. Maley
Assistant Director, Secondary Teacher Education Programs in History & Social Sciences

E-mail: kmaley@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-5903
Office: Zulauf 626
Office Hours: By appointment only


Eric Mogren Eric W. Mogren
Associate Professor

E-mail: mogren@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 712
Office Hours: By appointment only


Ismael Montana Ismael Montana
Assistant Professor

E-mail:montana@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-8420
Office: Zulauf 718
Office Hours: By appointment only


Barbara Posadas Barbara M. Posadas
CLAS Distinguished Professor

E-mail: bposadas@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 704
Office Hours: W 2:00-3:00By appointment only


Brian Sandberg Brian Sandberg
Associate Professor

E-mail: bsandberg@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 706
Office Hours: By appointment only


James Schmidt James D. Schmidt
Department Chair & Professor

E-mail: jschmidt@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6810
Office: Zulauf 715
Office Hours:  By appointment only


Andrea Smalley

Andrea L. Smalley
Director, Secondary Teacher Education Programs in History & Social Sciences, & Assistant Professor

E-mail: asmalley@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-0190
Office: Zulauf 605
Office Hours: By appointment only


photo not availableJ. Harvey Smith
Associate Professor

E-mail: hsmith@niu.edu
Office: Illinois Interactive Report Card (IIRC), Monat Bldg. 252
Office Hours: By appointment only


photo not availableKristy Wilson Bowers
Instructor

E-mail: kbowers1@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6812
Office: Zulauf 612
Office Hours: By appointment only


Cemetery in Budapest, HungaryNancy M. Wingfield
Presidential Research Professor

E-mail: nmw@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6805
Office: Zulauf 707
Office Hours: By appointment only