Quick Navigation

Faculty Directory

Department of History Faculty


photo_not_availableAnita Andrew
Associate Professor

E-mail: anzhu1368@yahoo.comaandrew@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-8545
Office: Zulauf 606
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 10:30-12:00


Stanley ArnoldStanley Arnold
Associate Professor

E-mail: sarnold@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-4907
Office: Zulauf 722
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 1:00-2:00


E. Taylor Atkins

E. Taylor Atkins
Presidential Teaching Professor 

E-mail: etatkins@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6699
Office: Zulauf 702
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 1:30-2:30


Frank Bell


Frank Bell
Advisor, Secondary Teacher Education Programs in History & Social Sciences

E-mail: fbell@niu.edu
Phone: 753-6576
Office: Zulauf 622
Office Hours: Monday 1:00-4:30; Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday 8:00-12:00


Bradley BondBradley Bond
Dean of the Graduate School & Associate Professor

E-mail: bbond@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-7403
Office: Adams 210
I do not currently accept graduate students.


JD Bowers J. D. Bowers
Associate Vice Provost of University Honors & Associate Professor 

E-mail: jbowersi@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-9399 
Office: Campus Life 110
Office Hours: Email for appointment.


Andy BrunoAndy Bruno
Assistant Professor

E-mail: abruno2@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 720
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 12:30-1:30 & by appointment


Kenton Clymer

Kenton Clymer
Distinguished Research Professor

E-mail: kclymer@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6814
Office: Zulauf 701
Office Hours: Tuesday 12:00-1:45, Thursday 1:00-1:45, & by appointment


photo not availableSundiata Djata
Professor

E-mail: sdjata@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6817
Office: Zulauf 602
Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-2:00


Sean Farrell Sean Farrell
Assistant Chair & Associate Professor

E-mail: sfarrel1@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 615
Office Hours: On leave Fall 2014


Heidi FehrenbachHeide Fehrenbach
Board of Trustees Professor & Distinguished Research Professor

E-mail: hfehrenbach@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 601
Office Hours: On leave Fall 2014 & Spring 2015


Damian FernandezDamian Fernandez
Assistant Professor

E-mail: dfernandez@niu.edu
Phone:  815-753-6821
Office: Zulauf 724
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 11:00-12:00 & by appointment


Rosemary FeurerRosemary Feurer
Associate Professor

E-mail: rfeurer@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6815
Office: Zulauf 618
Office Hours: On sabbatical Fall 2014


Aaron Fogleman Aaron Spencer Fogleman
Professor

E-mail: aaronfogleman@niu.edu  
Phone: 815-753-6824
Office: Zulauf 613
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 2:15-3:30 & by appointment


Frohardt LaneSarah Frohardt-Lane
Instructor

E-mail: SFrohardtLane@niu.edu   
Office Hours: Not teaching Fall 2014 


Valerie Garver Valerie L. Garver
Director of Undergraduate Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: vgarver@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6823
Office: Zulauf 607
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 1:30-3:30, Friday 10:00-10:50


Robert HagamanRobert Hagaman
Instructor

E-mail: rhagaman@hotmail.com
Phone: 815-753-6816
Office: Zulauf 608
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 12:30-1:30


Anne Hanley Anne G. Hanley
Director of Graduate Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: ahanley@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6695
Office: Zulauf 615
Office Hours: Thursday 10:00-12:00 & by appointment


Beatrix Hoffman Beatrix Hoffman
Professor

E-mail: beatrix@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 616
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 12:30-1:30 & by appointment


Kristin Huffine

Kristin Huffine
Director of the Center for Latino & Latin American Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: khuffine@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-1651 (Latino Center)
Office: Latino Center 113
Office Hours: By appointment


Trude JacobsenTrude Jacobsen
Associate Professor

E-mail: tjacobsen1@niu.edu 
Phone: 815-753-8822
Office: Zulauf 714 
Office Hours: In ZH714, Monday & Wednesday 11:00-12:00; in Pottinger House 201, Thursday 1:00-2:00


Eric Jones Eric Alan Jones
Assistant Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies & Associate Professor

E-mail: iloveroti@gmail.com
Office: Pottinger House - 520 College View Court
Phone: 815-293-7753
Office Hours: On sabbatical Fall 2014


photo not available

Natalie Joy
Assistant Professor 

E-mail: njoy@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 708
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 5:00-6:00 & by appointment


Emma Kuby

Emma Kuby
Assistant Professor 

E-mail: ekuby@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 710
Office Hours: Wednesday & Friday 9:30-10:30


photo not availableVera Lind
Associate Professor

E-mail: vlind@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 610
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 2:00-3:00 & by appointment


Amanda LittauerAmanda Littauer
Assistant Professor, joint appointment with Women's Studies

E-mail: alittauer@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 614
Office Hours: Monday 1:30-3:30, Wednesday 1:30-3:30, & by appointment


Kate MaleyKathryn R. Maley
Assistant Director, Secondary Teacher Education Programs in History & Social Sciences

E-mail: kmaley@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-5903
Office: Zulauf 626
Office Hours: Wednesday & Friday 9:00-11:30, Thursday 2:00-4:00, & by appointment


Eric Mogren Eric W. Mogren
Associate Professor

E-mail: mogren@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 712
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 8:30-9:30 & by appointment


Ismael Montana Ismael Montana
Associate Professor

E-mail:montana@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-8420
Office: Zulauf 718
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 1:00-2:30 & by appointment


Barbara Posadas Barbara M. Posadas
CLAS Distinguished Professor

E-mail: bposadas@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 704
Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:00 & by appointment


Brian Sandberg Brian Sandberg
Associate Professor

E-mail: bsandberg@niu.edu
Office: Zulauf 706
Office Hours: On leave Fall 2014


James Schmidt James D. Schmidt
Department Chair & Professor

E-mail: jschmidt@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6810
Office: Zulauf 715
Office Hours: Tuesday & Wednesday 9:00-11:00, Thursday 1:00-3:00, & by appointment


Andrea Smalley

Andrea L. Smalley
Director, Secondary Teacher Education Programs in History & Social Sciences, & Assistant Professor

E-mail: asmalley@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-0190
Office: Zulauf 605
Office Hours: Tuesday 2:00-4:00 & by appointment


photo not availableJ. Harvey Smith
Associate Professor

E-mail: hsmith@niu.edu
Office: Illinois Interactive Report Card (IIRC), Monat Bldg. 252
Office Hours: By appointment only


photo not availableKristy Wilson Bowers
Instructor

E-mail: kbowers1@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6812
Office: Zulauf 612
Office Hours: Tuesday 9:00-11:00 & Wednesday 1:00-2:00


Cemetery in Budapest, HungaryNancy M. Wingfield
Presidential Research Professor

E-mail: nmw@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6805
Office: Zulauf 707
Office Hours: Monday 4:50-5:50, Wednesday 3:00-3:30, & by appointment