People - NIU - Foreign Languages & Literatures

People

Faculty

Katharina Barbe, Ph.D. (German)
Associate Professor and Chair
Watson Hall 111
815-753-1259
kbarbe@niu.edu
Mandy Faretta-Stutenberg, Ph.D. (Spanish Linguistics)
Assistant Professor and Director of Basic Language Program
Watson Hall 117
815-753-8396
mfs@niu.edu
Matthew Smith, Ph.D. (French)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 314
815-753-6462
msmith6@niu.edu
Shannon Becker, Ph.D. (French)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 314
815-753-6462
sbecker@niu.edu
Frances Jaeger, Ph.D. (Spanish)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 311
fjaeger@niu.edu
Francisco Solares-Larrave, Ph.D. (Spanish)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 311
fsolares@niu.edu
John Bentley, Ph.D. (Japanese)
Professor and Assistant Chair
Watson Hall 120
815-753-6451
jbentley1@niu.edu
Joanna Kot, Ph.D. (Russian)
Professor
Watson Hall 312
815-753-6460
jkot@niu.edu
Tharaphi Than, Ph.D. (Burmese)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 122
815-753-6453
tthan@niu.edu
Anne Birberick, Ph.D. (French)
Associate Professor and Vice Provost
Altgeld Hall 220
815-753-0494
annie@niu.edu
Karen Lichtman, Ph.D.
(Spanish Linguistics and Teacher Licensure)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 112
815-753-6443
klichtman@niu.edu
Kanjana Thepboriruk, Ph.D. (Thai)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 335
815-753-6535
kanjana@niu.edu
Dennis Brain, Ph.D. (German)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 308
815-753-6445
dbrain@niu.edu
Chris Nissen, Ph.D. (Italian)
Professor 
Watson Hall 113
815-753-6444
cnissen@niu.edu
Stephen Vilaseca, Ph.D. (Spanish)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 315
815-753-6463
svilaseca@niu.edu
Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz, Ph.D. (German and FL Tech)
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Watson Hall 118
815-753-6448
jpcooke@niu.edu
Linda Saborío, Ph.D. (Spanish)
Associate Professor
Faculty Senate President
Executive Secretary of University Council
Altgeld Hall 103
815-753-9306
lsaborio@niu.edu
Mary Lee Cozad, Ph.D. (Spanish)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 116
815-753-6447
mcozad@niu.edu

Instructors

Lucinda Alwa, Ph.D (Classics)
Watson Hall 316
815-753-6464
lalwa@niu.edu
Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail, M.A. (Tagalog)
Watson Hall 309
815-753-6457
rgallocrail@niu.edu
Dawn Rogodzinski-Lisa, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 301
815-753-6918
drogi@niu.edu
Rahmi Aoyama, M.A. (Indonesian)
Watson Hall 119
815-753-6450
rhartati1@niu.edu
Lanhui Zhang Ryder, Ed.D. (Chinese)
Watson Hall 310
815-753-6458
lryder@niu.edu
Emilio Aviles-Casquet, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 313
eaviles@niu.edu
Taylor Hartman, M.S. (ASL)
Watson Hall 340
thartman3@niu.edu
Misato Sekita (Japanese)
Watson Hall 123
msekita@niu.edu
James Byrd, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 313
jbyrd@niu.edu
Emily Knudson-Vilaseca, Ph.D (Portuguese)
eknudsonvilaseca@niu.edu
Laura Steele, Ph.D (Classics)
Watson Hall 316
815-753-6464
lsteele@niu.edu
Kerry Chermel, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 119
815-753-6450
kchermel@niu.edu
Kheang Leang, M.A. (Khmer)
Watson Hall 310
815-753-6458
kleang1@niu.edu
Friedemann Stuebing, M.A. (German)
Watson Hall 123
815-753-1501
fstuebing@niu.edu
Lady Cohen, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 313
lcohen@niu.edu
Candace Medina, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 316
815-753-6464
cmedina@niu.edu
Dawn Westhoff (ASL)
Watson Hall 340
dwesthoff1@niu.edu
Debra Currere, M.A. (Spanish)
Watson Hall 301
815-753-6918
dcurrere@niu.edu
Patrick O’Connor, M.A. (French and Spanish)
Watson Hall 310
815-753-6458
poconnor2@niu.edu

Teaching and Grad Assistants

Victor Estanislao (Spanish)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
815-753-9143
wavila1@niu.edu
Salvador Macias (Spanish)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
815-753-9143
smacias@niu.edu
(Indonesian)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
Silvia Ginting (Indonesian)
Teaching Assistant
Watson Hall 119
815-753-6450
sginting1@niu.edu
(Swahili)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
815-753-9143
Elizabeth Unruh (Classics)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
815-753-9143
eunruh1@niu.edu
(Thai)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
(FL Residence Program)
Graduate Assistant
Watson Hall 121
815-753-6422
(Russian)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
815-753-9143
Sabie Zenku-Baftiri (French)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
815-753-9143
szenkubaftiri1@niu.edu
(Burmese)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
tswe@niu.edu

Staff

Lynne Meyer
Main Office Staff
Watson Hall 111
815-753-1501
lmeyer@niu.edu
Grant Olson, Ph.D. (Language Learning Center and Thai)
Supportive Professional Staff
Watson Hall 101
815-753-6455
golson@niu.edu
Greg Ross, Ph.D. (Foreign Language Residence Program and French)
Supportive Professional Staff
Watson Hall 121
815-753-6452
gross@niu.edu
Jeanette Glaudé
Office Manager
Watson Hall 111
815-753-6441
jglaude1@niu.edu
Concepcion Gliesman, M.A. (Coordinator, Foreign Language Residence Program, Spanish)
Watson Hall 121
815-753-6452
cgliesma@niu.edu

Retired Faculty and Staff

James Collins, Ph.D. (Malay)
Professor
John Hartmann, Ph.D. (Thai)
jhartman@niu.edu
Maryline Lukacher, Ph.D. (French)
mlukache@niu.edu
Louise Ciallella, Ph.D. (Spanish)
lciallella2@niu.edu
Patricia Henry, Ph.D. (Indonesian)
phenry@niu.edu
Michael Mazzola, Ph.D. (French and Italian)
mmazzola@niu.edu
William Harrison, Ph.D. (Spanish and Portuguese)
wharrison@niu.edu
Eloy Merino, Ph.D. (Spanish)
Professor
Watson Hall 115
emerino@niu.edu