Undergraduate Programs

Lambda Pi Eta – COMS Honor Society

The Department of Communication was granted a chapter of the national Lambda Pi Eta Honor Society, and we are always recruiting for new scholarly members. What is Lambda Pi Eta? It is the National Communication Association’s Honor Society for undergraduate majors and minors in communication, and it represents what Aristotle described in his book, Rhetoric, as the three ingredients of persuasion: Logos (Lambda) meaning logic, Pathos (Pi) relating to emotion and Ethos (Eta) defined as character credibility and ethics. Lambda Pi Eta follows six goals that exemplify the three ingredients of persuasion:

  1. Recognize, foster and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies.
  2. Stimulate interest in the field of communication.
  3. Promote and encourage professional development among communication majors.
  4. Provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication.
  5. Establish and maintain closer relationships between faculty and students.
  6. Explore options for graduate education in communication studies.

Eligibility requirements for induction are:

  • Minimum of 60 hours of overall college credit
  • Minimum of 12 hours of credit in communication courses (exclusive of COMS 100)
  • Minimum of a 3.0 overall university GPA
  • Minimum of a 3.25 COMS department GPA (must be emphasis declared major to be eligible)

The cost for becoming a member of the NIU chapter of Lambda Pi Eta is $60. This includes your lifetime membership in the society, a certificate, a membership pin, and an honor cord that can be worn at graduation to indicate your impressive academic achievement.

If you meet or exceed the minimum requirements above and would like to become a member of an elite group of COMS students, please complete the application and return it to Watson Hall 209. Dues will be collected once you have been accepted and complete the membership agreement to follow after acceptance. Actual induction happens each spring at the O’Connell awards ceremony.